CLASS OF 2023

Birthplace: Reno, NV

Undergrad: University of Nevada Reno


Med School: University of Nevada Reno

Favorite Travel Location: Costa Rica

Hobbies: Hiking, skiing, camping, running, goat yoga

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Disney character

Ask me about... Denver dining, brewery touring, which ski pass to purchase, how to put the beat down in spike-ball and my perfect pup Gimli (yea, I am a Lord of the Rings nerd)

Birthplace: Burlington, VT

Undergrad: Boston College


Med School: University of Vermont

Favorite Travel Location: Australia/New Zealand

Hobbies: Equestrian show jumping, crossfit, running, skiing

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: wrangler on a ranch in Wyoming

Ask me about... Teaching opportunities at DHREM

More than meets the eye... I was born and raised in a very rural area of Vermont

Birthplace: Colorado Springs, CO

Undergrad: Grove City College


Med School: Loma Linda

Favorite Travel Location: Grand Cayman

 

Hobbies: Reading (especially audiobooks), basketball, soccer, racquetball, biking, hiking, kayaking 

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Veterinarian. Or a gardener. 

Ask me about... how to find free and activities anywhere

More than meets the eye... My favorite job before being a doctor was coaching middle school girls basketball; herding fifteen 13 year olds - what could be better!

Birthplace: Fort Myers, FL

Undergrad: Indiana University


Med School: University of Chicago

Favorite Travel Location: Three Sisters Wilderness

Hobbies: Camping, hiking, cycling, trail running, board games, movies, craft brews 

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Naturalist in Alaska 

Ask me about... the best trail running spots around Denver, hiking in Colorado, film, why board games are cool, where to go in Rocky Mountain National Park, living in Capitol Hill, the best Colorado breweries, climate change and why it's important

More than meets the eye... I was a camp counselor for five summers before medical school, and was torn between emergency medicine, psychiatry, and pediatrics during fourth year.

Birthplace: Newport Beach, CA

Undergrad: University of California Los Angeles


Med School: University of Colorado

Favorite Travel Location: Palau (it's a small tropical island about a five hour flight south of Japan) 

Hobbies: Rock climbing, surfing, volleyball, tennis, cycling, spike ball, skiing, coffee, cooking, bread making, and a plethora of board/card games

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: (Long list in order of likelihood) trauma surgery, critical care/internal medicine, OB/GYN, or cardiothoracic surgery

Ask me about... Rock climbing, Denver food/coffee, skiing, mad bread baking skills, spikeball

More than meets the eye... I’m a Christian and a member of the Bridge Church at Bear Creek

Birthplace: San Carlos, CA

Undergrad: Cal Poly, SLO


Med School: Chicago Medical School at Rosalind Franklin

Favorite Travel Location: Italy

Hobbies: Landscape photography, hiking/backpacking, cooking, vegetable gardening, spending time with my amazing girls

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would: Work for the National Park Service, finding a way to fish and photograph all of them

Ask me about... Having a family during residency, EMS, fly fishing

More than meets the eye... I have 2 kids (one I delivered in the front seat of my truck), this is a second career for me (previously a paramedic)

Birthplace: New Haven, CT

Undergrad: Austin College


Med School: Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine

Favorite Travel Location: Cuba

Hobbies: Traveling, exercising, podcasts, live music, gaming, napping

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be: an aspiring trophy husband/professional dog walker

Ask me about... The best vegan restaurants in Denver

More than meets the eye... I spent a large part of my time in medical school in rural Alabama working to develop a LGBTQIA health disparity and education curriculum that is now part of their formal curriculum.

Birthplace: Tokyo, Japan

Undergrad: Cornell University


Med School: Albert Einstein

Favorite Travel Location: Field research center in central Kenya

Hobbies: Hiking, camping, road trips, soccer, basketball, cooking international cuisine

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be: a stay-at-home dad

Ask me about... My handmade dumpling and shumai recipe and where to get authentic asian ingredients around Denver!

More than meets the eye... I have a high school degree in both the US and Japan

Birthplace: Englewood, CO

Undergrad: Montana State University


Med School: University of Texas Southwestern

Favorite Travel Location: Patagonia

Hobbies: Fly-fishing, hiking, skiing, backpacking, acoustic guitar, playing with my labrador retriever 

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Full-time hobbyist and rancher in Montana (it's too bad I'm allergic to horses)

Ask me about... Residency at DHREM while married to a resident in a different specialty

Birthplace: Denver, CO

Undergrad: University of Miami


Med School: University of Colorado

Most Exotic Travel Location: Belize

Hobbies: Hiking, backpacking, camping, lounging in all the hot springs in Colorado, playing piano, ordering takeout, hanging out with my dog, Freya, and cat, Darwin.

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Flight attendant

Ask me about... All the best wineries in Western Colorado

More than meets the eye... I grew up in a small rural Colorado town without any traffic lights.

Birthplace: Albuquerque, NM

Undergrad: University of New Mexico


Med School: University of New Mexico

Most Exotic Travel Location: Amsterdam

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Traveler

Ask me about... Food around Denver, beer, trails, biking, music, running, hiking, snowboarding, climbing, dancing, cooking

More than meets the eye... I like riding motorcycles; I have a PADI Scuba certification and a black belt in Shotokan Karate 

Birthplace: Indianapolis, IN

Undergrad: Boston University


Med School: Boston University

FavoriteTravel Location: Cradle of Humankind in South Africa 

Hobbies: Hiking, traveling. salsa dancing, yoga, tennis, hanging out with my awesome cat, exploring flea markets/used bookstores/art markets    

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be an: Archeologist, or website designer

Ask me about... Social EM, homeless health in Denver, the best cocktail bars in Denver 

More than meets the eye... I went to a Spanish immersion school from kindergarten through high school and speak Spanish fluently 

Birthplace: Ann Arbor, MI

Undergrad: University of Rochester


Med School: University of Michigan

Favorite Travel Location: Switzerland

Hobbies: Exercise, crossfit, skiing, hiking, volleyball, kayaking, healthy cooking, dabbling with a guitar/piano, shower singer extraordinaire, petting other peoples' dogs 

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Crossfit coach

Birthplace: Chicago, IL

Undergrad: University of Utah


Med School: Temple University

Most Exotic Travel Location: Hawaii

 

Hobbies: Skiing, long boarding, board games, video games, gym/HIIT

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Formula 1 driver or a college football coach

Ask me about... Where to go ski, where to get get ramen, where to get food tacos

More than meets the eye... I am a first generation college student and I am the first person in my family to go to medical school

Birthplace: Denver, CO

Undergrad: Carnegie Mellon


Med School: Baylor

Most Exotic Travel Location: Alaska! I would like to go to Central America and Israel at some point

Hobbies: Baseball, yoga, snowboarding, mountain climbing, golf

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: High-school teacher who teaches yoga on the side

Ask me about... Astronomy

More than meets the eye... My grandpa, born in Guatemala, helped teach me Spanish as a kid and in medical school

Birthplace: Okemos, MI

Undergrad: University of Pennsylvania


Med School: University of Michigan

Favorite Travel Location: South Africa

Hobbies: Crossfit, running, snowboarding, reading, guitar, cooking, camping

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Pixar animator

Ask me about... Ultrasound, Education, Best coffee spots in Denver

Birthplace: Naperville, IL

Undergrad: University of Florida


Med School: SUNY Downstate

Favorite Travel Location: Thailand

Hobbies: Mountaineering, hiking, scuba diving, free-diving, woodworking, coffee roasting, cooking, gardening, rock climbing

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Maybe in ortho because bones are amazing. Although, I was pretty serious about being a professional snorkeler

Ask me about... Any of my hobbies! 

More than meets the eye... I am the first doctor in my family and the only one who likes cooked salmon

Denver Health Residency in Emergency Medicine

777 Bannock Street, MC #0108

Denver, Colorado 80204

Image Attributions

  • Twitter Social Icon