top of page


Birthplace: Manila, Philippines

Undergrad: University of Texas at Austin

Med School: University of Texas Houston

Dream travel location: Palawan archipelago

Hobbies: Any dog-friendly activity, hiking, traveling, triathlon especially cycling/running, craft beer

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Pilot

Ask me about... Work life balance, mentorship, diversity

Birthplace: Chugiak, AK

Undergrad: University of Puget Sound

Med School: University of Washington

Dream travel location: Lebanon and Oman

Hobbies: Rowing, international traveling, horse packing, backpacking, skiing, motorcycling, endurance sports

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be an: Astronaut

Ask me about... LGBTQ+ health disparities and refugee health, medicine in Alaska

IMG_2472 - Michael Maurantonio.HEIC
Maurantonio, MD

Birthplace: Port Washington, NY

Undergrad: Fordham University

Med School: State University of New York Downstate

Dream travel location: Camping trip to Maui’s Haleakalā volcano

Hobbies: Music, botany, camping, skiing/snowboarding, surfing

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Conservationist running a plant biodiversity sanctuary

Ask me about... Music, saving your houseplants, human anatomy

Birthplace: San Diego, CA

Undergrad: University of California, Berkeley

Med School: University of California, San Francisco

Dream Travel Location: The top of Half Dome!

Hobbies: Basketball, video games, guitar, reading, cats

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Veterinarian or professional baked goods critic

Ask me about... basketball, good books to read, my cats

Birthplace: Providence, RI

Undergrad: University of Pennsylvania

Med School: Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University

Dream Travel Location: The Galapagos

Hobbies: Hiking/trail running, fishing, surfing, craft beer, cooking, golf, watching sports, and anything that gets me outside

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Ski/surf bum

Ask me about... My eggplant parmesan recipe

IMG_4089 (2) - Cody McIlvain.JPG
Cody McIlvian, MD

Birthplace: Mesquite, TX

Undergrad: University of Texas at Dallas

Med School: Eastern Virginia Medical School

Hobbies: Traveling, basketball, board games, running, hiking, backpacking and rock climbing

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be: In the film industry or an outdoor adventure guide

Ask me about... My recent hiking, backpacking, or climbing adventure.

More than meets the eye... I am the first person in my family to graduate from college.

Birthplace: Denver, CO

Undergrad: Washington University in St. Louis

Med School: University of Colorado

Dream Travel Location: St. Maarten

Hobbies: Mountain biking, snowboarding, cooking, pretty much up for anything!

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be: Owner/chef at a breakfast spot

Ask me about... Navigating the couples match

Birthplace: Fairbanks, AK

Undergrad: Montana State University

Med School: Stanford University

Dream Travel Location: Antarctica 

Hobbies: Trail running, snowboarding, and backpacking

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be an: OB/GYN

Ask me about... Trail running, adopting a dog as an intern, living outside the city

Birthplace: Scottsdale, AZ

Undergrad: Arizona State University

Med School: NYU

Hobbies: Running, hiking, yoga, photography, snowboarding, reading

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be an: Unemployed

Ask me about... Social EM and why I came to DHREM, hiking/trail running

Birthplace: China Grove, TX

Undergrad: University of the Incarnate Word

Med School: Central Michigan

Dream Travel Location: Santorini, Greece

Hobbies: Being with my friends and family, being outdoors, hiking, and spending time with my animals

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be an: Imagineer at Walt Disney World

Ask me about... Diversity in medicine, family, long-distance relationships in residency, being new to Colorado, and pets (particularly cats and corgis)

More than meets the eye... I was the first person in my family to go to college and the first person in my family to choose a career in the medical field

IMG_2654 - Maria Kohlbrenner.jpg
Maria Kohlbrenner, MD
EEA1BE64-CE4C-4EA8-AF3C-E396930F54A3 - K
Kristyn McLeod, MD

Birthplace: Pearl River, NY

Undergrad: Duke University

Med School: State University of New York Downstate

Dream Travel Location: Zanzibar, Tanzania

Hobbies: Hiking, skiing, baking, cooking, running, board game nights, puzzles, traveling

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be: Doing global health work in some capacity, either research or policy.

Ask me about... where to find the best food in Denver

Birthplace: Tucson, AZ

Undergrad: Arizona State University

Med School: Mayo Clinic

Hobbies: classical violin, indoor rock climbing, west coast swing, volleyball,  good conversation over dinner/drinks/coffee/etc.

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: High school calculus teacher

Ask me about... Living in Denver but not being particularly outdoorsy, living on the east side of Denver, intern off-service rotations, women in medicine...Anything at all!

More than meets the eye... The first sport I participated in was competitive roller skating (at about 5 years old), and I have a twin sister

Birthplace: Livermore, CA

Undergrad: California Polytechnic State University

Med School: University of Vermont

Dream Travel Location: New Zealand

Hobbies: Anything outdoors: exercising, triathlon, skiing, hiking/backpacking, climbing.  I also love to read, eat, and drink.

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Dog walker. Reading stories to napping baby seals would also be excellent. 

Ask me about... Fortifying/forwarding fitness, family, and faith in residency

More than meets the eye... I had an opportunity several years (and pounds) ago to race triathlon in Kona, HI!

Birthplace: Dexter, MI

Undergrad: Union College

Med School: Central Michigan

Dream Travel Location: Japan

Hobbies: Weight lifting, hiking/camping, DIY projects

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: General contractor

Ask me about... My time in the US Army, choosing medicine as a second career or why I love Denver!

IMG_2779 - Kelly McWilliams.JPG
Kelly McWilliams, MD

Birthplace: Boca Raton, FL

Undergrad: University of Florida

Med School: USF Health Morsani

Dream Travel Location: New Zealand

Hobbies: Cultivating the perfect breakfast sandwich, snorkeling, flag football, hiking/backpacking

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Professional women's soccer coach (ideally for my favorite team, Orlando Pride)

Ask me about... LGBTQ+ diversity in Denver, picking up new hobbies in residency (such as woodworking and plant nurturing)

Birthplace: Sharon, MA

Undergrad: University of Massachusetts Amherst

Med School: New York University

Dream Travel Location: Mali

Hobbies: Hiking, skiing, climbing, camping and spending time outside. I love baking bread and cooking.

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Farmer

Ask me about... surthriving intern year, navigating the couples match, and why living in Denver is so incredible

Birthplace: Chicago, IL

Undergrad: Claremont McKenna

Med School: Rush University

Dream Travel Location: Siberian Railroad across Russia

Hobbies: Skiing,  cooking - I bake a mean sourdough loaf, yoga, hiking, river kayaking

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Chef

Ask me about... Politics and cooking. I also like health policy and hope to do a public/health policy related fellowship one day

More than meets the eye... I grew up working in a trophy making factory that my grandfather started in 1938 

bottom of page