CLASS OF 2021

Birthplace: New Jersey

Undergrad: UCF

Med School: Boston University

Favorite Travel Location: Lofoten Islands, Norway

Hobbies: Running faster/farther than Arian Anderson, soccer, catching touchdowns, skiing green runs only, cooking unhealthy food, hiking

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Teacher or stay-at-home dad

Ask me about... Why your choice of residency has a huge impact on your first job, playing soccer in Denver, the best places to eat in Denver, why Arian Anderson is so slow

Birthplace: Sonoma, CA

Undergrad: UC Davis

Med School: Boston University

Favorite Travel Location: Grand Tetons

Hobbies: Travel by bike, foreign language, public speaking and mastering the hospital peanut-butter:graham cracker ratio.

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Motivational speaker

Ask me about... Global health, medical education & being single during residency

More than meets the eye: I speak fluent Spanish and German

Birthplace: Colorado Springs, CO

Undergrad: Macalester College


Med School: University of Colorado School of Medicine

Favorite Travel Location: Baja

Hobbies: Family time, Snowboarding, Skateboarding, Surfing, Hiking, Art/Printmaking

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: RTD Bus Driver

Ask me about... Work-life balance, rural medicine, taco recipes

Birthplace: Miami, FL

Undergrad: Linfield


Med School: University of Colorado School of Medicine

Favorite Travel Location: Flagstaff

Hobbies: Running, self loathing, reading, all things outdoors, being better than Matt Mendes

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Biology professor

Ask me about... Space; all the reasons I'm better than Matt Mendes

Birthplace: Littleton, CO

Undergrad: Montana State University


Med School: University of Colorado School of Medicine

Favorite Travel Location: anywhere with rivers, mountains; New Zealand

Hobbies: Fly fishing, telemark skiing, running

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Float-plane pilot

Ask me about... Fly fishing, telemark skiing, getting married in residency, how much I love the residents I am here with, rural EM

More than meets the eye... I love sci-fi, and I'm nearly colorblind...which makes appreciating art with my partner (a painter) challenging

Birthplace: Ithaca, NY

Undergrad: University of Vermont


Med School: SUNY Downstate Medical Center

Favorite Travel Location: Vietnam

Hobbies: Hockey, running, learning to do the other Colorado things (skiing, flannel, hiking, fishing, beanies, dogs..)

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Teacher. Or maybe a food critic.

Ask me about... Sneaking into this program as a non-subI-rotator. How to successfully migrate from the east coast. Beers that taste good. Balance in residency.

More than meets the eye... I'm the only person in my family in medicine and followed a (somewhat) atypical meandering path.

Birthplace: Melbourne, FL

Undergrad: Boston University


Med School: Hofstra University

Favorite Travel Location: Thailand

Hobbies: Athletics, sketch comedy, DIY projects

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be an: Event planner

Ask me about... Toxicology, social EM, moving to a new city, Denver breweries

Birthplace: Flushing, NY

Undergrad: Duke University


Med School: University of Florida

Most Exotic Travel Location: China

Hobbies: Diversity, equity, and inclusion; education; choral music and composition; Latin dance; linguistics; food; car tech; bargain shopping

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Choir director

Ask me about... Diversity, equity, and inclusion; raising a family in residency; EMRA and organized medicine; Latin American food in Denver

More than meets the eye... My family is from the Dominican Republic, I'm the youngest of 7 siblings, and I have an 11 year old daughter with another on the way. I am allergic to cats but still managed to acquire 3 of them (#parenthood). I minored in music and used to be a choir director.

Birthplace: Seattle, WA

Undergrad: Seattle Pacific University


Med School: University of Washington

Most Exotic Travel Location: Patagonia

Hobbies: Rock climbing, skiing, backpacking, mountain biking, soccer

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Product designer in the outdoor industry

Ask me about... Colorado Roots -- I was raised north of Denver, and enjoyed growing up in the beautiful Rocky Mountains. After leaving for a 15-year hiatus in the Pacific Northwest, I was elated to return to Denver for residency. Family Life -- I met my wife Katie in Seattle, and we've now been married for 7 years. Last year we welcomed our first child, Mae, named after her great grandmother. World-Class Coffee -- Denver boasts some of the best coffee roasters in the country. Some of my favorites are Sweet Bloom, Middle State, Corvus, Huckleberry and Jubilee.

More than meets the eye... My undergraduate degrees were in theology and psychology. It wasn't until after completing a wilderness EMT in Wyoming and working as a ski patroller in New Zealand that I decided to pursue a career in medicine.

Birthplace: Annapolis, MD

Undergrad: Miami of Ohio


Med School: Ohio State University

Favorite Travel Location: British Virgin Islands

Hobbies: Running, rock climbing, hiking

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Park ranger

Ask me about... Critical care, rock climbing, trail running

More than meets the eye... I have been doing German folk dancing since the age of 4

Birthplace: Berkeley, CA

Undergrad: University of Colorado - Boulder


Med School: University of Queensland

Favorite Travel Location: New Zealand

Hobbies: Climbing, trail running, swimming and getting after it outside

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Marine biologist

Ask me about... rock climbing

Birthplace: Sarasota, FL

Undergrad: University of Minnesota


Med School: University of Iowa

Hobbies: Exercising, movies, trying new restaurants, playing basketball, watching professional and college sports

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Chef or NFL punter

Ask me about... Big Ten Football

 

More than meets the eye... I've worked almost every job in the restaurant industry

Birthplace: Laramie, WY

Undergrad: University of Northern Colorado


Med School: University of Washington

Favorite Travel Location: Anywhere that’s remote and away from people

Hobbies: Anything outdoors. Hiking, camping, climbing, skiing, biking, hunting, fishing.

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Ski bum

Birthplace: Fort Collins, CO

Undergrad: Trinity University


Med School: University of Colorado

Favorite Travel Location: Peru

Hobbies: Kickboxing, cooking, reading

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Travel-writer for the Lonely Planet

Ask me about... Some of the most delicious restaurants in North Denver on a resident's budget; my interest in Global Health and my trip to Juarez PGY3 year; survival tips when both you and your significant other are in residency/medicine

Birthplace: Corvallis, OR

Undergrad: Oregon State University


Med School: Oregon University

Favorite Travel Location: India and Tokyo

Hobbies: Writing, music, computer programming, winter mountain sports, motorcycles

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would: Start my own space program!

Ask me about... Toxicology!

Birthplace: Silver Springs, MD

Undergrad: Dartmouth


Med School: University of Colorado

Favorite Travel Location: Peru

Hobbies: Gardening, knitting, skiing, hiking

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: Christmas tree farmer

Ask me about... My many hobbies both indoors and out

Birthplace: Albuquerque, NM

Undergrad: University of New Mexico


Med School: Ohio State University

Most Exotic Travel Location: Gallup, NM

Hobbies: Hiking, snowboarding, traveling, exploring new cultures

If I couldn't be an EM doc, I would be a: High school chemistry teacher

Denver Health Residency in Emergency Medicine

777 Bannock Street, MC #0108

Denver, Colorado 80204

Image Attributions

  • Twitter Social Icon